From Exhausted to Accomplished

Look what came in the mail today! My USMS sticker!
 
I was rather tired and “not feeling it” at swim practice this morning. In fact, on my way to the pool deck, I ran into one of my lane mates on her way into the locker room to change. She said, “I'm not not feeling it today, and I just saw Judy and she isn't feeling it either. So it's up to you.” Translation: I was going to be leading our lane today. Perfect. I said, “Wait! I'm not feeling it either!” Well, I did my workout with as much effort as I could muster, but it wasn't a banner workout. However, it was a workout. We did a fly drill set with fins that felt extra tiring. After that, we did a long-ish main set involving sprinting various distances and 200 yard easy/recoverys in between. After practice, several of us were chatting about how exhausted we were to start off the week. So, it wasn't just our lane, we all had a case of the “not feeling its.” This then led to a short discussion on the toll doing certain fitness regimens can take on our now older bodies and about cross training. Yep. We are all getting older. I was mentioning how I need to lift weights two times a week, even if I'd rather be swimming. And, something along the lines of, “Swimming makes me happy.” And, one of my swimmer friends, who swims a lane or two away from me, said something like, “Oh, yes. I know. You look happy when you're swimming.” This comment took me by surprise, especially today when I wasn't feeling particularly happy or accomplished in the water. But, the thing is, even on a bad swimming day, I'm usually happy after, if not during. This made me remember that back in November, I had started a list of how swimming makes me feel at any given moment. Here is my list (in no particular order):

Swimming Makes Me Feel…

Strong

Graceful

Competent

Happy

Tired

Relaxed

Accomplished

Cool

Fast

Slow

Exhausted

Mentally free…of earthly issues, concerns, people, places, appointments, etc.

Meditative

Successful

Owned by/a slave to the clock

Filled with joy

Energized

Stress free

Hungry

So good afterwards, I want to spend as much time as possible doing it.

I hope to keep adding to this list as I think of new ways swimming makes me feel. It is almost a my “Benefits of Swimming List.” I'm sure other swimmers (and runners, skaters, skiers, walkers, and etc.) would have similar lists. For example, I don't know any swimmers who would say that swimming doesn't make them hungry. Swimmers are usually always hungry. At least they are after they swim. So, even though I started out “not feeling it,” I was feeling pretty happy and accomplished after practice. And, I'm grateful to my swimmer friends for reminding me why I swim.

 

Leave a Reply

