Back to Empty

I was back in the friendly skies traveling to see my daughter’s early soccer game today. I was so grateful to be able to be there. I flew out on the first flight of the day and arrived at the field in time to enjoy a short visit with the parents and some of the delicious food they had brought for a pre-game breakfast tailgate. The weather was beautiful. After the game, I had a really nice, but quick visit with my daughter. I am so fortunate to have had another day that I was able to give both of my kids a hug and a kiss on the same day, since Alex left this morning to go back to his school. His Fall Break is now officially over. I flew home on the last flight of the day. Home to our once again empty nest. John had not yet gotten home from taking Alex back, so the house was really empty. I thought I had conquered my sadness over being an empty nester, and I was not expecting to feel sad that Alex was heading back to school, but I have not and I am sad. I am very proud of both of our kids and very happy for them. However, it seems that I will have to adjust to having them both back at school again. I know I have so much to be grateful for, and I will count my blessings that I have been able to see the kids so often this fall.

Leave a Reply

