The Breakfast Buffet

The odds were stacked against me. I was starving or at least very hungry when I woke up. I quickly got dressed and grabbed my room key. I was mentally planning what I was going to have on the elevator ride down. At no time during that short ride did the word or thought of “restraint” occur to me. Not once. I was going to have half of a Belgian waffle, probably a bagel with a hard boiled egg, but I was going to see what the hot egg offering looked like, and maybe a pastry-but just a small bite or two. Luckily, I snapped out of my mental food binge as I walked into the familiar, yet different Breakfast Buffet that this hotel offers. I walked slowly around the spacious food area and calmly noticed the usual menu. I strode confidently past the Belgium waffle maker. I saw the hard boiled eggs prominently displayed next to the fresh cut fruit bowl. I immediately grabbed a bowl and scooped out a small serving of the fruit, trying to inconspicuously pick the grapes, oranges, and pineapple, while trying to avoid the honeydew melon. I then got a plate a hard boiled egg and a small toasted bagel. All things considered, I think it was a very successful trip through the potentially dangerous breakfast buffet.

Leave a Reply

