Fruity Fish is a Hit

 

We are always hoping for a new dinner idea. So, the topic of “What's for dinner? comes up in my discussions with friends. Saturday night we went to dinner with friends, who also have been thinking about creative dinner ideas. We shared our different-fish-a-different-way each week idea with them. I'm glad we did, because our conversation lead us to choosing Grouper as our fish for this week. We also decided on a mango salsa to go over it. I thought that pairing called for black beans and rice from Chipotle (since they do rice and beans better than I do).

John got the fish and a mango-pineapple salsa from Wegman's. I was a little unsure about how to cook the fish, but I went with broiling it. I have a number of fancy olive oils and balsamic vinegars that I thought might work well. So I pre-mixed a small amount of a garlic and herb olive oil with my pineapple balsamic. It was perfect! The light garlic and light pineapple flavor was a very nice flavor on the grouper. The only problem was that the oil didn't work well with my broiler. I had flames sparking and smoke. Ugh! So, I cancelled the broil plan after 7 minutes or so and went with baking instead. That seemed to take a lot longer than I expected. But, since I already had my side dish from Chipotle, it didn't really matter how long it would take. It was more annoying than anything.

We were very pleased with the fish choice and the light drizzle of garlic herb olive oil and pineapple balsamic, but I was very unhappy about the salsa. It wasn't what I had wanted or expected. There were no visible mango or pineapple pieces, no light, sweet salsa sauce. No, this was a thicker tomato salsa with a heavy smoky flavor and a slight fruit flavor. It was weird. Overall, we gave the meal high marks and will likely make this again (with a different, fruitier salsa).

Next up…We may try to make homemade lobster rolls next week. We'll have to see if we can find a good recipe for it. I don't want to try to wing it. We have been to New England. We know what an awesome lobster roll tastes like!

 

Leave a Reply

