Dry Land Fitness AKA Strength Training

 

I had a really good Masters swim practice today. I felt strong and physically good. I lifted weights yesterday and felt strong and good. I love it when it seems like all my fitness activities are paying off or coming together in a successful way. Every day, I log my activity/activities. I have been using the United States Masters Swimming (USMS) Fitness Log or FLOG for years. Before the FLOG became accessible on-line through the USMS website, I used to log my swimming yardage, yoga, walking, jogging, water aerobics, Zumba, and whatever I did. I logged it in a booklet, on a calendar or on a piece of loose leaf. I never really did anything with the data I gathered, except for the swimming yardage. The swimming yardage was sent on a monthly basis to the gal who managed the USMS Go the Distance fitness event years ago. I love that there is an online log now. It is so easy to use, and I love that it tallies every yard or minute for me. I am still waiting for USMS to create an App for my iPhone, so I can enter my yardage right after I get out of the pool, while it’s still fresh in my mind. But, that is a post (or rant) for another day.

Recently, I reviewed my FLOGS since the beginning of the year and back through 2013. I was able to see some really successful months of training in several areas. I was very pleased to note that I began a serious effort to incorporate weight lifting into my fitness routine in April of last year. Almost one year ago. I was pretty good about lifting twice a week for most of the rest of the year. I think it was shortly after that, say around September, that I started to notice I seemed to be swimming faster. My times were getting faster during practice. Several of the folks I swim with had noticed that I lost a few pounds, also. So, while I will frequently talk about how much I don’t care for doing weight training, it has made a positive influence on my swimming and my physical appearance. I had started to drop the weights classes toward the end of the year, in favor of more swimming. And, I noticed I wasn’t feeling as strong and sleek as I had felt when I was lifting. So, of course, not wanting to take a step back and gain weight, I decided to get back to it at the beginning of the year. So far, so good. I've been quite diligent about lifting even with the challenges of the winter weather. And, it seems to be paying off for me.

 

Leave a Reply

