8 Mom Things I’m Very Happy to No Longer Be Doing Since Becoming an Empty Nester

Lake Brandt, Greensboro, NC – Atlantic & Yadkin Greenway Trail

I got a very good night's sleep last night. Hurrah! I wasn't sure I would because I hadn't slept well at all the night before, and I wasn't convinced I was “over” whatever was keeping me awake. But, part of what was keeping me awake was my own stubborn resistance to being thrilled and delighted that my kids are getting older and are doing well, and to being thrilled or delighted that my mom duties are changing. My role isn't changing, as much as it is evolving. And some times are harder than others for me to release my strong attachment to the old duties. So, while I really am thrilled and delighted with it all on one level, I really haven't begun to think or appreciate it in terms of what it means for me to not have to do all the day in and day out mom duties. With the exception of getting up early in the morning to get the kids' breakfasts and get them out the door to school. I knew I was “over” that and looking forward to no longer doing it by the time my son graduated from high school. Oh, that and not having to make or plan lunches. And, now that I think about it, I don't miss asking about homework daily, or if an assignment was turned in, or if a test was studied for… Or, if college applications were done.

Wow! I'm quite happy about all sorts of things I'm not worrying about or doing in this Empty Nest. I had not fully appreciated it until now. In fact, there was a brief mention of the hot button topic, “Common Core,” at lunch today. And, Sue happily said, “I don't care!” to the whole topic because she has only a Junior in high school left at home, and she figures it won't impact her or her family. It definitely doesn't impact me or my kids directly. So, I can add not having to worry about Common Core or those types of issues to my “Not on my Mom Duty list” any longer. What a relief that is.

Well, that was a nice little exercise in identifying things I'm happy to not have on my daily Mom duty list any more. I must have had enough of doing those things while in that stage of motherhood to not miss doing them now. Or, maybe I grew out of it? So, perhaps my kids aren't the only ones growing. Hummmm. Interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

