Life is Good as an Empty Nester

It was nice to be able to get my car into the shop today, since we are supposed to get more snowy weather during the morning rush hour tomorrow. Thanks, Sue, for helping me get it done! John and I were able to pick it up before dinner. Speaking of dinner, I had pulled one of last week's leftovers out of the freezer for tonight, which I would like to say is because I'm so efficient. But, the reality is I was feeling uninspired about making dinner… for a change. My mom had called earlier and asked if I could run a quick errand for her. Since I bundled mom's errand with my return from picking up the car, I got to her house at the perfect time. Her friend had just dropped off a piping hot Chicken Parmesan Pasta Casserole for her and my dad. It looked and smelled delicious and was way too much for two. My folks were adamant that I take a couple servings home for our dinner tonight. So, hating to disappoint the parents, I said. “OK, I guess we can have our leftovers tomorrow night instead.” Such a sacrifice. Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of it, but it reminded me of the dinner my mom made with a recipe from the show with the Pioneer Woman. It was very good and even more of a delight because it was one less meal I had to think about, plan or cook this week. Thanks, Mom, for sharing your dinner!

The Empty Nest

I was thinking about this earlier. It seems like I've had a lot more people asking me lately about what it's like to be an Empty Nester. I feel badly that I haven't said, “It's great! You're going to love it!” That's what several of my friend's had said to me. I think I may have accidentally let down those couples who came before me, who were highlighting the positive for those of us fearing the unknown, by not showering glowing praise on being an empty nester. I hit that gloomy day on Saturday, and it threw me off my positive game. I was in the throes of, “It's hard and you miss the kids and the activities.” Now, I think I need to go back and let these ladies know that it is great. It's a chance to re-couple or renew your couple-dom (?). It can be like being newly weds again. Older and wiser, and perhaps a little more set in your ways, but free again. Free to join volleyball or bowling leagues, or to eat out every night (or to eat at home all the time because you have two kids in college), or to take a road trip with little notice. Yeah, I miss my formerly structured life. Yeah, I miss my kids, and I miss enjoying their adventures and activities. Yeah, John and I have a lot of “us” time now, which is why having the bike riding of the Rail Trails hobby is such a great thing for us. But, it is good for us to be able to go back to doing whatever we decide to do, when we want to do it, like going to Washington D.C. in the middle of a Saturday afternoon.

 

2 thoughts on “Life is Good as an Empty Nester

  1. While I miss not having my daily plans following kid’s activities we soon found the void filled with grandkid activities. Sledding for the first time this weekend with the grandkids made me feel young again. Unfortunately I noticed many of the parents standing on top of the hill with their faces buried in their smartphones. Don’t they know what they are missing!

    • Hi Duane,
      That sounds so fun! You’re right! Those parents are missing some fun memories in the making. And, what a wonderful thing to look forward to (and to stay in shape for). Thanks for the head’s up! Well, I’m sure this stage of life will go by as quickly (or more so) as the one in which we had wall-to-wall activities to get juggle. It’s just the re-focusing of time, energy, and our attention, that is taking some time to get used to for now. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience! ~Angie

Leave a Reply

