On Travel: Real and Vicarious

Stonehenge March 2013 – It was very cold!

 

Well, I've done it. In Britney Spears, “Oops!…I did it again” fashion. I've started to get really excited to travel, but sadly have no trips planned for the near or distant future. It has happened before. It usually starts with me reminiscing about my previous trips, usually to Spain, but lately it's been the ones to England. I'll have a memory float into my mind or I'll see pictures, and it all comes flooding back to me. The desire to be “there.” Lately, the culprit that began igniting my little travel bug fire has been my twitter feed and my relatively new presence in the blogging world that has done it. I follow a lot of folks who travel and tweet (and blog) about it. I have been reading more and more blogs. I find myself getting lost in the wonderful and exotic-sounding adventures of “The Real People of The Blogosphere.” And, all the reading I'm doing about the amazing experiences these folks are having in these lovely places is making me want to do two things as soon as possible. The first thing I want to do is to start planning and/or taking some trips immediately. The second is to consider taking some photography classes or, at the very least, try a little harder with the photos on my own blog. Now, I realize I am coming dangerously close to comparing my blog to other blogs, which is a big no-no for me. But, I want to get out and see some of these beautiful places. I want to be able to document and share that beauty in my blog posts with photos, like many of the bloggers I am reading lately. So, do I continue to hang out in the Blogosphere? There is a lot of temptation there. And, I am very easily tempted when it comes to world travel. Do I dare go cold turkey and stay off the great blogs I've been enjoying? Can I find some wonderful things to focus on around here? Well, with the winter weather being so dreary, and the fact that there isn't much going on around here at the moment, I think I need these little escapes in my day. Visiting Italy, Ireland, and Taiwan, all in a single sitting, is not a bad deal. Not a bad deal at all.

The London Eye, March 2013 – It was cold when we were here, too!

 

2 thoughts on “On Travel: Real and Vicarious

  1. I can imagine it was cold at Stonehenge last March.. here (in Sweden) it was winter until mid April or something like that. Almost no snow but like 10 degrees below zero (celsius) every day for the entire month of March. Awful!!!
    And, well done on refusing to compare your blog with other blogs.

    • Hi Susanne,
      Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog and leave a comment! I was pretty surprised by how bone chilling the cold was. Sounds like you had the same thing. Ugh! This winter here in the U.S. is colder and snowier than usual. I’m hoping for a warm Spring this year! :-) Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

