Dinner For Two – Redux

This is not my “Shrimp Night” Shrimp. But it was good when we had it last Summer!
 

The day started off just snowy enough (or something enough) to cause the local school system to call for a 2 hour delay. So, there went swim practice and any other fitness activity for me. In the end, I wasn't as disappointed as I usually would be. I had a lot of catching up to do on the computer, as well as making sure I didn't miss my make up hair appointment. Yay! After my haircut I went back to the Mall. I almost never go twice in one week, but I need to begin to update my wardrobe. And, since I almost never want to try on clothes, I had to strike while the iron was hot. The Mall had a slightly more upbeat vibe to it. The memorials are still up. The fountain still has beautiful white flowers floating in it. There seemed to be more people doing real shopping and quite a few walking for exercise. I actually found a nice outfit that was reasonably priced, so I bought it. Then, because I had spent 20 plus uncomfortable minutes or so trying clothes on, I decided I needed to walk around the entire Mall. As briskly as possible. I also decided I needed to skip the visit to the cookie store. And, I made plans to have grapefruit for dinner for the foreseeable future. So, not a bad trip to the Mall at all. By the time I got to the grocery store, I had almost forgotten about the grapefruit plan in my quest for a real dinner idea. I was able to find a couple of dinner for two dinner ideas — the Old El Paso Taco Dinner kits were on sale, as were the individually wrapped chicken breasts. I ended up making a “shrimp night” dinner, which was quite good. I bought six large-ish scallops that were delicious, to go with the steamed and spiced shrimp, instead of buying other kinds of shrimp like I usually do. I may try to come up with something interesting to do with the chicken for tomorrow night. But, I'm still not really excited about making dinner for two again. I think it was more exciting when we first got married because cooking for two seemed a lot more fun than cooking for one. I need to try to remember back to those days before kids for some dinner ideas we can use now. Or, I can always fall back on the grapefruit plan.

 

Leave a Reply

