Is Winter Over Yet?

A Penguin Enjoying Snow at Symphony of Lights, Howard County, MD

A Penguin Enjoying Snow at Symphony of Lights, Howard County, MD


Less than a week ago, Saturday to be specific, I was loving winter. I was in a “I love the seasons. I love having snow flurries in the air on any given day and snow on the ground. I am all about this wonderful, REAL, winter we are having…”  I even wrote a poem stemming from that happy place.  Here is a link to that poem.  It is now just Tuesday. A mere three days later and I’m done. I have personally heard and heard about (via my twitter feed) a number of folks who are sick and tired of this winter. They are specifically sick of this cold, cold weather. And now I am joining them. Our temperatures are dipping into the single digits and probably below zero again. I am no longer dressing weather appropriately and happily thinking about how many bugs (specifically, the ticks — deer ticks and regular ones– and stink bugs) are dying each day, and how great that will be come Spring and Summer. Nope. I’ve slipped from my weather/season-grateful perch. We must be getting closer to warm weather, but it isn’t coming soon enough for me. I am anxious to get out and ride my bike. I’m even looking forward to worrying about SPF rated clothing and sun screen. And, I am usually very annoyed by constantly trying to hide from the Sun. But, next to being cold all the time, I think I’ll take it!
Animal Tracks in the Snow.

Animal Tracks in the Snow.

Leave a Reply

