Just the Two of Us, Again

It didn't get easier. I was sad again saying goodbye to Alyssa this morning for her last semester of college. Even when she tried to make me feel better by threatening, I mean, telling me she would be home forever after this semester, I was still sad to say goodbye. I found myself thinking how being a parent is so strange, and hard, and wonderful, and exhausting, and amazing, and interesting. And, I saw that the mom of the young man Alyssa drove back to school with was just as teary-eyed as I was, as she said goodbye to her son. Fortunately for all of us, the goodbyes were relatively quick. I was able to get my teary-eyed self straight to the pool for practice. I felt much better afterwards, as usual. And, luckily today was a federal holiday so John didn't have to work. We enjoyed lunch, just the two of us, at Bon Fresco in Columbia, which is always delicious. Then, we decided to go and goof off in Washington D.C. and Bethesda along the Capital Crescent Trail. It was a beautiful, 56 degrees and sunny day. We ended up walking about 3 miles of the trail. It was packed with bike riders, joggers, dog walkers and lots of folks meandering about. It was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. Now, we are hearing that the weather is promising to be the exact opposite tomorrow…snowy and cold to bitter cold. It will be hard to believe if that turns out to be the case. But, just to be sure we are prepared (or spared), John got the snow blower ready. I think that ought to keep the snow away, for sure!

 

Leave a Reply

