Southern Fried Chicken Surprise

I admit it. I was not excited about Alex's restaurant choice for lunch. It sounded like it was going to be all fried, all fattening, and absent anything remotely healthy. When we arrived at Zaxby's and gazed up at the menu selections I thought my worst fears were indeed becoming reality. I could tell Alyssa was having a bit of a quandary about what to choose, as well. Alex was saying how good the chicken fingers are, so I went with the house salad with the fried chicken fingers on top. I was curious, but thought I should have a salad as back up. It was a great plan. I got to try the chicken, which was cut up into little bite-sized pieces, first. It was delicious. I mean, really delicious. Then, I dug into the salad. It was a “sit down” restaurant quality salad – not fast food restaurant quality. I was thrilled. It had leafy green lettuce, cucumber and tomato that were farm fresh and perfectly ripe. I couldn't believe I was enjoying such a wonderful salad in a fast food restaurant that is known for fried chicken fingers. We also tried the Zaxby's sauce and it was very tasty, too. We were making some comparisons to a certain chicken restaurant around us, and Zaxby's came out on top. It's too bad we don't have one near us. I would definitely eat there again. But, then again, I don't need any more opportunities to eat any more fried foods than I am already trying not to eat. I'm so glad I was so pleasantly surprised. @Zaxby's

 

Leave a Reply

