A New Year’s Day Thanksgiving Dinner

Here is a picture of the ready-for-the-oven dressing. It was very delicious. I only made a few modifications to the recipe shown.
I thought I was going to have a lot more lounging around time today, but I had a little “lack of Thanksgiving leftovers” bitterness to rectify. So, I made the complete Thanksgiving meal, including “the green stuff,” which is Watergate Salad — one of the staples in our holiday dinners. And, it was a delicious meal, if I do say so myself. Actually, everyone loved it, including my parents, who were also here for the Thanksgiving New Year's Day dinner. And, just like on Thanksgiving, I am having the post meal regret of too much dressing and potatoes (and gravy). I did not do really any snacking beforehand, and I was running around the kitchen to get it all ready, so hopefully I didn't do too much damage. I guess if I sink to the bottom of the pool tomorrow, I'll have my answer. We don't normally have such an elaborate feast on New Year's Day, but I'm grateful I was inspired (even though it was mostly inspiration due to bitterness) to make the effort. It was well worth it. I usually have a simple ham dinner without too many overboard extras. I also usually spend a good part of the afternoon adding all of the family birthdays, appointments, work commitments, and etc. that I already know about into my trusty “Week at a Glance” Day Timer. I will have to do that tonight, since I haven't had time yet this afternoon.

Well, sadly, we have already started the countdown to taking Alex back to school. His classes start so much earlier than Alyssa's do. So, that means I'm trying to stay ahead of the laundry, make sure he gets the home cooked meals he likes, and get some treats ready for him to take back. There is one loaf of Banana Bread in the freezer that has his name on it. So, that is a good start. There's no easing into the new year over here.

Let's eat!

 

 

Leave a Reply

