A Swimming Inspiration

I saw one of our local swimming “legends” this morning at the pool. She is probably a recognized legend outside of our Maryland Masters swimming community, as well. She has been featured in several articles in local papers over the years. Her nickname is “Madame Butterfly,” after the stroke she started to compete in when she was 70 years old, according to a 2010 article in The Baltimore Sun by Mike Klingaman. She still swims (competes in) butterfly, and other strokes, at swim meets as recently as this past year. I believe that she is 93 years old. And, she is an inspiration to all of us. No ifs, ands, or buts about it. When we see her at the pool for her workout, we all secretly, or not so secretly, hope that we can still be swimming when we are in our 90's. I didn't have a chance to ask her what meets she is planning to do next year. But, knowing her love of swimming, I'm sure she has one or two on her calendar. As for my practice today, I really liked the workout (Thanks, Coach!) and moved ever closer to the 275 mile goal. It sounded like several of us are going to be at practice tomorrow, so that will be fun. Me, because I am oh so close to 275 miles and others because there is no practice on Wednesday, and/or because they too are trying to reach their goal mileage. As my friend Roberta said, “Well, of course you have to come tomorrow! Because clearly not reaching a goal, is not an option.”

My photos are of a toy swimmer girl swimming butterfly in my sink. It's such a cool toy.

 

Leave a Reply

